National leaders meet on Holden’s behalf.

The External Advisory Committee of the Holden Comprehensive Cancer Center is composed of experienced leaders from other NCI Designated Cancer Centers.

The committee meets in Iowa City once each year with the leadership, members and staff of the Holden Comprehensive Cancer Center. Committee members provide guidance and consultation to the leadership team of the Holden Comprehensive Cancer Center regarding various aspects of the Cancer Center's activities including:

  • Organizational structure
  • Scientific program development
  • Shared research resources
  • New approaches to strengthening the research, clinical and educational activities of the Cancer Center

Committee Composition

Francis Ali-Osman, DSc

Margaret Harris and David Silverman Distinguished Professor of Neuro-Oncology
Professor of Surgery
Professor of Pathology
Duke University School of Medicine
Durham, N.C.

Stanton L. Gerson, MD

Dean, School of Medicine and Senior Vice President for Medical Affairs
Acting Director, Case Comprehensive Cancer Center
Acting Director, National Center for Regenerative Medicine
Distinguished University Professor, CWRU
Asa & Patricia Shiverick – Jane B. Shiverick (Tripp) Professor Hematological Oncology 
Professor of Medicine, Oncology, CWRU 

David M. Gosky, MBA, MA

Executive Director-Administration
The Ohio State University Comprehensive Cancer Center
Arthur G. James Cancer Hospital and Richard J. Solove Research Institute
Columbus, Ohio

Maha Hussain, MD, FACP, FASCO

Genevieve Teuton Professor of Medicine
Division of Hematology/Oncology
Deputy Director 
Robert H. Lurie Comprehensive Cancer Center
Northwestern University Feinberg School of Medicine

Anita Kinney, PhD, RN, FAAN, FABMR

Professor, Department of Biostatistics and Epidemiology 
School of Public Health
Director, Cancer Health Equity Center of Excellence
Associate Director for Population Science and Community Outreach
Rutgers Cancer Institute of New Jersey
Director, ScreenNJ
Rutgers University
New Brunswick, N.J.

Karen E. Knudsen, MBA, PhD

Chief Executive Officer, American Cancer Society and American Cancer Society Cancer Action Network
Chair and Hilary Koprowski Endowed Professor, Cancer Biology
Professor, Cancer Biology, Urology, Radiation Oncology, and Medical Oncology
Thomas Jefferson University
Sidney Kimmel Cancer Center

Electra D. Paskett, PhD, MSPH

Marion N. Rowley Professor of Cancer Research and Director
Division of Cancer Prevention and Control
Department of Internal Medicine
College of Medicine
Division of Epidemiology
College of Public Health
Associate Director for Population Sciences
Comprehensive Cancer Center
Founding Director, Center for Cancer Health Equity
The Ohio State University
Columbus, Ohio

Frank M. Torti, MD, MPH

Board of Trustees Endowed Professor
Professor of Medicine
Farmington, Conn.